Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-10-2010, 02:37 PM   #1

Pentax K-x and cold weather enviroment, advise needed

Hello everyone,

I am just a newbie to DSLR world. My friend suggested me to pick the Pentax K-x for the 1st start. After 5 days researching around internet and read the dpreivew about the K-x, I am really interested in buying the K-x. However, I still concern only one thing before place my order ....

I am living in Minnesota where the average temp. in winter is <10F, sometime it downs to -30F. Therefore, I am afraid of the cold weather would affect the performance of K-x because it lacks of the cold resistant.

Can anyone living in the cold country/state tell me your own exp. about using the K-x in cold weather? It would be greatly appreciated

01-10-2010, 02:42 PM   #2
Veteran Member

No camera will work for very long in the kind of temps we have had for the last 2 weeks! That said, I've taken it out for a few quick walks with no problems. As long as you take reasonable steps to keep the camera warm, it will function fine in cold weather. The K7 is actually rated to work in cold climates, but that is a whole other ball game! The Kx is a great deal, and you wont have any problem using it outdoors, even up here in MN.

Also, Welcome!
01-10-2010, 04:16 PM   #3

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Keep a couple sets of spare batteries in you inner coat pocket and switch out the cold one if they stop working. They usually recover when warmed up.
QuoteOriginally posted by AirSupply Quote
Hello everyone,

I am just a newbie to DSLR world. My friend suggested me to pick the Pentax K-x for the 1st start. After 5 days researching around internet and read the dpreivew about the K-x, I am really interested in buying the K-x. However, I still concern only one thing before place my order ....