Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-22-2007, 02:01 AM   #1
Forum Member

Brought a Pentax 10D and immediate problem

I brought a Pentax 10D today, my first SLR camera, after using a regular digital camera for 5 years.

I've switched on the camera and set it to automatic mode as I just want to try it out first of all, but it keeps on flashing on the view fielder "F - -" at me and I can't take a photo.

I've read every page in the manual, spent nearly 2 hours going through the various sections and searching the web, and am getting extremely frustrated.

I am new to this game, but would have thought the manual could have been a tad more user friendly.

Can anyone help please?

06-22-2007, 02:03 AM   #2

Seems to me the camera can't get a reading from the lens as to which aperture is set.

Which lens are you using? The kit lens?
06-22-2007, 02:03 AM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
Thanks in advance to anyone who takes the time to respond btw.
06-22-2007, 02:05 AM   #4
Forum Member

Original Poster
Yes, I'm using the kit lenses.

It's a Pentax 18-55mm Lens.

This is the product page where I brought it from - Pentax K10D Digital SLR Camera - w/Pentax 18-55mm Lens

06-22-2007, 02:14 AM   #5
Forum Member

Original Poster
Ok, you're all going to laugh at me.

The lenses wasn't attached correctly. It appeared to be, but obviously wasnt, as I took it off and put it on again and everything worked fine.

Let the fun begin
06-22-2007, 02:17 AM   #6

Hmm that is strange. Can you make a picture at all?

FYI it is normal that the viewfinder/top LCD shows 'F--' if you use a manual lens since the camera can't communicate with the lens. This shouldnt be a problem with any DA lens though.

Anybody else has an idea?