Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-23-2007, 09:03 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'd like to get A K10D but...

I understand the K10D is a serious camera but lately I've become a little concerned about what I've been reading about in reviews of the camera. The common theme is the K10D is for those who take the time to get the most out of it, and that it is not suited for beginners. For me this would be my first DSLR. I have a Canon A80, a fine little P&S, but I want to try my hand at DSLR photography. I'm a complete beginner but I've been reading as much about Pentax DSLR's and lenses as I can get my hands on before I make a purchase.

I suspect the K100D is better suited for a rookie but I like the features (weather sealed body especially) and the feel of the K10D better. I had a chance to hold one and take a few snaps with it at Houston Camera Exchange in Houston, TX. A little more weight, good grip and a nicer viewer.

I guess my basic question is how complex do you think the K10D really is and should I reconsider the K100D?

Thanks.

06-23-2007, 09:39 PM   #2
Veteran Member

In the end, all you have to worry about are aperture, shutter speed, and film/sensor speed. Everything else is just a feature. I don't know how well you adapt to things, but I think you may be over-analyzing the situation. The K10D has a lot more features than the K100D, but the basic operation of the aperture, shutter, and sensor is the same. In all honesty, you can't go wrong with either.

HCE is a great store. I was in town a few months ago and bought my AF540FGZ flash there. I was amazed that they had a good selection of Pentax stock on hand.

Good luck.
06-23-2007, 10:06 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by ericc Quote