Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-18-2010, 03:29 PM   #1

K-x versus Oly e620?

Hi all,

Noob here.

I bought my wife an Oly E620 for her b-day. It came with the kit lens 14-42 and I added a 300mm zoom (600mm with the Olys 2x crop factor)

I really wasn't that interested in DSLRs but really got into it by "borrowing" hers all the time.
Good fun.

NE how, my b-day is close and I decided that a camera for ME would be a good idea.
After much research, I settled on the K-x kit with the 18-55 & 55-300 lenses.

There are a number of obvious differences between the two cameras, articulated screen on one , video on the other, 1.5X vs 2x crop etc etc I guess the reason I went with the k-x is the superior low light performance, and, well, the price! <also it reminds me of my ol' KX250 kawasaki mx bike >

So, in the few weeks I wait for my Amazon "deal" to come through, any opinions on the maybe less obvious pros and cons of the e620 vs the k-x?

Cheers!
ken

01-18-2010, 05:32 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Well, the viewfinder of the K-x is certainly more satisfying. On the other hand, while the K-x is a small DSLR, the E-620 is markedly smaller in terms of actual practical size when handling. This is, of course, due to the smaller grip, which may be seen as a pro or a con depending on your priorities. More importantly, the Oly Kit lens is significantly smaller than the Pentax kit lens, which has a much bigger impact on compactness of the total package. Performance-wise the 14-42 is honestly a bit better than the 18-55 L (the II version is better in my experience but that may have just been sample variation as they're supposed to be identical) but they're both on the better end of the kit lens scale, and you can get equal quality by stopping the Pentax kit lens down a stop or two and using an ISO a stop or two higher; the E-620's noise performance honestly isn't at all bad but the K-x's is fantastic.