Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-24-2007, 01:54 PM   #1

Dust or CCD Problem?

This is my FIRST post and I need help/advice. I bought my first DSLR (K100D) two months ago and recently started noticing little "specs" in my pictures (especially at smaller apertures). Then, I looked back at some of my earlier photos around the time I was first testing out the camera and noticed them in those pics as well. I first thought it was one of my lenses, but all photos had the "marks" and tried blowing the CCD clean but the "specs" still exist. I'm new to the qualities of DSLR images so I'm not sure if they are pesky dust particles that are stuck on OR if there's a flaw in the sensor itself. Again, it's less than 2 months old and I haven't taken it out on any vigorous adventures so I don't understand how a problem could already arise. Any help/suggestions are gladly welcome. Thanks!

06-24-2007, 02:01 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
After looking a little closer I think it looks like hot pixels from the color of the spots. Is this a JPEG image? If it is try shooting in RAW most Raw converters will take out the hot pixels automatically. But for the length of time you had the camera I would talk to my nearest service center and see if they could map the sensor. This should be covered under your warranty.
06-24-2007, 02:51 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The colored spots in the second image are hot/stuck pixels and there isn't too much to be done. They come and go in almost all CCDs from time to time. Pentax will replace the CCD if they are so bad that they are ruining your images. David is correct, most RAW converters remove them automatically so you would never see them.