Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-31-2010, 01:50 AM   #1

Pentax k-x lenses, HELP please!

Hey everyone! I'm from down under and I am going to be purchasing a Pentax k-x. I am new to DSLR and have only fiddles with a 300s from work and am totally amazed with the quality of pictures it can take. This sparked my interest in photography and have been doing some reading over the past few weeks.

I'm in a bit of a dilemma as i am a uni student and would like to keep to a budget of $1000 +/- $100.

In Australia, these are the current prices that i can get.

1. K-x + pentax 18-55mm + 1 yr warranty $740
2. K-x + pentax 18-55mm & pentax 55-200mm + 1 yr warranty $820
3. K-x + sigma 17-70mm macro + 1 yr warranty $899

I would also like to get a tripod ~ $100-150 and a filter (any recommendations?).

My issue is that since i am new to photography I'm not exactly sure what lenses i want. I've heard good things about the sigma, and average things about the 18-55 mm and 55-200mm. I'm going to pick it up as a hobby, so i will eventually buy some lenses later, but my main concern is my upcoming trip to the great barrier reef (few months).

Will be beach settings, daintree rainforest, nice beautiful landscape and perhaps some fish if i get some underwater gear. Since the daintree is so magnificent there will be some animals to shoot (may not really be too far away) but mainly scenery and trees etc (P.s. would i need a polarizar and uv lens for this? what do they both do). I image there will be a lot of MACRO work where i will be going, so this would be great too!

I plan on also buying a MF 50mm 1.7 in the next couple months ($120 from ebay) for portraits and whatnot (can this do macro?).

Is there any advice for a newbie like me on what lenses to go with, experiences, thoughts, advice, or any input whatsoever.

Thanks all! Sorry about asking so many questions, they're all bugging me (doesn't help when your indecisive :P).