Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-12-2010, 07:54 PM   #1

K-x eats AA batteries??

When I bought my K-x the idea of using AA batteries was appealing, mainly because I saw myself walking across the street to the jiffy mart to buy replacements. It's turned out to be quite a nightmare however. I've been through three sets of different batteries in the last month??!

The first set burned out after a couple of weeks of family shooting (short videos and stills.) I thought a firmware update would do the trick, so I updated. The next two sets went even faster?? I shot with the second set for about a week, casual use, just stills. I started shooting video one day and within 10 minutes the camera shut itself down (not because of heat, because of low power.) The next set were some re-chargeables I bought at Target. They lasted about 15 minutes of video shooting?!

I was wondering if anyone else is having this issue. I've read quite a few positive comments on battery life etc...but my experience does not bear this out. I'm starting to regret my purchase, though I love the K-x's rich feature set, and it does indeed take great stills.

02-12-2010, 08:05 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Are you buying alkaline AA batteries? As the manual says:

QuoteQuote:
These are easily obtainable when the batteries you are
using run out but they may not support all the camera
functions under certain conditions. We do not recommend
using them except in emergencies or when checking the
camera functionality.
Which rechargeables did you get from Target?

I suggest getting some low-discharge NiMH rechargeables (like Sanyo Eneloop), or, if you want to go the longest possible time between worrying about batteries, Energizer AA lithium non-rechargeables.
02-12-2010, 08:19 PM   #3
Veteran Member