Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-13-2010, 08:16 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Faulty equipment or faulty photographer? (K-x)

Hey all,

DSLR newbie here. I took quite a few flower photos today, and when I got back and took a look at them on my computer, I couldn't help notice that a lot of them looked a little hazy/fuzzy with some of the flowers having a sort of glow around them. I'm not sure whether I have faulty equipment (camera, lens, UV filter, etc.) or I'm the one at fault. I've provided a sample image here:

Here's some details about the photo:

- Shot hand-held with the kit lens (DA L 18 - 55mm) at 55 mm, 1/1000 s, F/5.6, ISO 200

- Shake Reduction enabled (not sure whether or not it was activated at the time the shutter was fully depressed)

- I used the center focus, half click, recompose method (my preferred method that I picked up while using my p&s and bridge cameras)

- I have a Hoya HMC UV(c) filter on the lens

- All in-camera filters are off

The full size version is available on flickr for you to analyze.

A nice side effect of this problem is that it gives my photos a slightly dreamy look. Well, any ideas/advice/feedback for this DSLR n00b is appreciated!

P.S. I hope this is in the right section. Mods, I apologize if it is not in the right section and please move it to where you see fit.

Thanks in advance, and I hope that this thread creates some constructive discussion and not "oh noes teh K-x is a faulty caemra!!!1" nonsense.

02-13-2010, 08:35 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

You have quite a nice picture there.
I want you to Google "Depth of Field" and learn about the interaction of aperture to what ends up in focus in a picture.
You don't have a defective camera, you have a very good eye and have, by what appears to be a lucky accident, used selective depth of field as a compositional device.
02-13-2010, 08:50 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Original Poster