Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-01-2007, 06:27 PM   #1

Where to Begin?

Hi everyone. I am a complete beginner to photography and want to learn this hobby. I purchased a Pentax *ist DL camera kit last year so I cold take fast quality pictures of my children. I leave it on Auto at all times and am using the included 18-55 lens that came with it. I want to be able to do more than that.

Are there any specific books that will help a beginner out? Where should I start?
(I really don't have time to take any classes with my current schedule.)

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Todd

07-01-2007, 06:40 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Amazon.com: Understanding Exposure: How to Shoot Great Photographs with a Film or Digital Camera (Updated Edition): Books: Bryan Peterson This is a good place to start, just read it, and it is very informative.
07-01-2007, 07:51 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
You might try the library - just about any general photography book can give you the basics about what aperture, shutter speed etc. means/does and why you might choose to change one from what the camera might choose. Much of what I know came from a paperback book I bought in the 1980's about how to use a film SLR, the principles are the same. About the only thing that's new is a few terms (white balance replaces using the right film for the light available and ISO replaces ASA).
07-01-2007, 08:21 PM   #4
PDL
Pentaxian

I suggest the National Geographic Photography Field Guide: Digital The National Geographic Online Store - Photography Field Guide: Digital add into this the other field guides found here The National Geographic Online Store - Books