Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-25-2006, 03:29 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
RAW Conversions for K10D

I started shooting RAW as soon as I got my DS2 about a year ago and have been using the free download of RSE for conversions to JPEG or TIFF.

My K10D will arrive on Monday and obviously I'm going to have to use the Pentax software until others support the new camera.

I've been practicing on an older version of Photolab that came with my DS2 and find it pretty clumsy. Perhaps the new version will be better, but in case it's not: what would you recommend I use once other conversion software supports the K10D?

BTW, I use PSP X for tweaking converted files.

Thanks,

Jerry
(Sailor on PentaxForums; JerryWhite on dpreview)

11-25-2006, 03:50 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Sailor Quote
I started shooting RAW as soon as I got my DS2 about a year ago and have been using the free download of RSE for conversions to JPEG or TIFF.

My K10D will arrive on Monday and obviously I'm going to have to use the Pentax software until others support the new camera.

I've been practicing on an older version of Photolab that came with my DS2 and find it pretty clumsy. Perhaps the new version will be better, but in case it's not: what would you recommend I use once other conversion software supports the K10D?

BTW, I use PSP X for tweaking converted files.

Thanks,

Jerry
(Sailor on PentaxForums; JerryWhite on dpreview)
Photoshop CS2 support all pentax digital SLR's except k10 (which will be soon)
here is a list of all cameras that it has raw support for:
Adobe Photoshop - Digital camera raw file support
If you can't afford the full photoshop cs2, then photoshop elements 4 and 5 also supports .raw but I am not sure if the raw editing controls are as robust as CS2.
you can use both of them for your one stop shopping.... capture, edit, and convert from raw to .jpg or tiff etc.