Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-03-2007, 07:41 PM   #1

Hand me down treasure

Greetings everyone,

I'll apologize now.. new to the forums.. new to Pentax (Have been using a Digital Rebel XT).

Last week, my Grandparents moved out of their home after 35 years. While moving out, my grandfather asked me if I would like his SLR gear, so.. I naturally said "Sure!"

He handed me a bag containing:
Pentax ME Body
Pentax ME Super Body (Which is what I've been shooting with since it was given to me)
Pentax 50mm f/1.7
Vivitar 28mm f/2.5
Vivitar 70-210mm f/3.5
Sigma 28-80 f/ 3.5-4.5
Vivitar Auto 252 Speedlight.

It's like striking gold for me! My question is I'm looking for a digital body to utilize these lenses as well as future purchases. (The Canon is what my wife uses to take pictures of our daughter, and the Pentax is mine for traveling which is what I do for a living).

The D100 and the D10 are the two bodies I'm looking into.
How long do the AA's last on the D100?
And lastly, how difficult are the cameras using the older lenses (which I currently have). I've red a bit on the forums on this topic and thank you all for the information.

An excited noobie,
Scott

07-03-2007, 08:36 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi Scott,
Thats the beauty of the Pentax 'K' mount system, it hasn't changed in a long time and its backwards compatibility is priceless.
Either the K100 or the K10D use the 'K' mount system, so either will take the lenses. I have the Ds and use Eneloop re-chargeable batteries, if you search around the forum you will find some recent threads on battery life.

....however...a word of warning for you.......do not allow yourself to be talked out of any of your treasured booty by members of this forum, some of them have been known to kill for less.......and do not give out your phone number to any of 'em (of course its quite safe with me...way over here.:ugh: )
Cheers, & welcome to the forum.