Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
02-25-2010, 02:28 PM   #1

*ist DL battery problem (old news I know but I'm a noob)

Hi, I know this is my first post and I'm sorry to bring this up again since others had discussed it recently but it was actually while I was browsing this forum for info on LSD rechargeables that it started.

Anyway, long story short, I bought a 2nd hand *ist DL as a 30th birthday present to myself in the summer, and after the first set of batteries I put in (Ultimate Lithiums) ran out, I went out and bought a set of Kodak NiMH rechargeables (2500's) and a charger in Wal-Mart (uninformed decision I know) and sort of dealt with the constant recharging over Christmas until I found out about the hybrids/LSD/eneloop style batteries.

So, while waiting for the funds to become justifiably available to buy some, I recently needed my camera when we just had a new daughter. Knowing that the Kodak's probably were on their last legs, I stupidly threw in a set of 'emergency' alkalines. Depleted battery meter flashed, fair enough - I thought they were just not powerful enough so I threw in the Kodaks which held out at 1/2 charge enough to take plenty of pics of my new baby girl.

The problem was, in between I had gone and bought a new set of Ultimate Lithiums, which I thought would give me another 500+ shots like the first set, but the depleted battery warning flashed (and continues to flash). The really weird thing is, well over a week after the last charge, my Kodaks are still showing a half-full reading when I stick them in.