Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-02-2010, 05:24 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Need answer/advice

Hello all,

This is my first post, and I'm hoping all you more experienced photographers can help me. I have been shooting for many years, but just as a hobby. I presently have a Pentax ist DS and several lenses. My birthday is tomorrow, and my wife has succumbed to my whining and is getting me a Pentax k-7. I've been shopping around for the best price, as I'm nowhere close to being a millionaire. But, I do want as Pentax because I can't afford to buy all new lenses etc.

Here's my question: I have found a k-7 (body only) on-line at Camera King for $835. But it is what they call an "import model." I spoke with their salesman on the phone and he said that virtually the only difference is that the domestic model has a 1 year warranty through Pentax, while the import model has a 1 year warranty through Camera King. Call me a cynic, but something seems fishy. Why would Pentax (or any company) let someone else import their product for such a lower price to undercut their own sales? Plus, can anyone tell me anything (positive or negative) about Camera King? Does this sound like an ok deal, or am I right to be suspicious?

Any info would be appreciated. Thanks.

03-02-2010, 05:37 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

The bottom line is this is what is called a grey market camera.

the cameras are not imported with pentax corp permission and pentax will not warrant the camera.

there are several good articles on grey market resellers and warranties that have been written in photo magazines over the past couple of years.

the bottom line is buyer beware.
03-02-2010, 05:46 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Let's do the math....

A "proper-imported" K-7 body is $970 (check Amazon).

So you're looking at $135 "saving."