Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-03-2010, 06:34 PM   #1

K-X Highlight Clipping?

I am new to the forum and considering a K-X purchase. I have read the review at dpreview. I am especially interested in the dynamic range test.
Pentax K-x Review: 17. Photographic tests (DR): Digital Photography Review

Do people feel the following comment is accurate? If so can it be overcome via adjustments in pre and post processing?

"The K-x has a fairly pronounced tendency to clip highlights and over exposed parts of the image are usually not recoverable at all or produce false color information when negative digital exposure compensation is applied in a RAW converter."

I am no expert in photography. I have been studying the dynamic range curves. I see just the K-X being just 1/2 EV lower than say a canon. Even when they use their highlight correction. I wouldn't think that would make that much difference. Is there a way to shift the dynamic range curve to the right? To me it looks like the K-X does a better job of shadow recovery. One of the reasons for me in moving to a DSLR is less highlight clipping.

Thanks,
Mike

03-03-2010, 06:48 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Basically, if the DR is the same, regardless of whether there's more in the highlights or shadows, then the DR is the same. The only difference, really, is where on the curve the camera exposes. YOU have control over this: if you're using a Pentax with smaller highlight range and more in the shadows, expose to preserve the highlights and bring the exposure up to whatever's visually "correct" in post. If you're using a Canon with more range in the highlights and less in the shadows, expose to the right (brighter) to take advantage of that range and then bring the exposure down to whatever's visually "correct" in post. The end result is essentially the same.
03-03-2010, 06:51 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter