Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-16-2007, 09:24 AM   #91

Is that soemthing that can be resolved with a firmware patch or the new DA* lenses?

07-16-2007, 09:31 AM   #92

QuoteOriginally posted by c.r.brown Quote
Is that soemthing that can be resolved with a firmware patch or the new DA* lenses?

I certainly hope so.
08-09-2007, 12:07 AM   #93
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by davemdsn Quote

Here it comes. I wish I got paid a nickel for every time I have said it. People are professional, cameras are tools.
"Amateurs worry about the equipment; professionals worry about the money; masters worry about the light."

I use my istD and K10D bodies to make money so I guess I am a pro but there are many very talented people - some of whom are in this forum - who aren't professionals, but could blow my stuff away in a heartbeat. I don't tell them what to buy and they don't tell me. In all my years in this game, I have come to form some simple rules (remembering that "rules" in photography are much like the code of pirates: more like guidelines, really.)

#1 - REAL pros never disparage any other pro's choice of equipment. Only amateurs criticize another person's camera because real pros know there are as many styles of shooting as there are shooters, and what works for one may not work for another. Pros will usually buy the best camera they can afford that gets the results they need to make money.

#2 - Results are what counts. My clients don't give a whit about the camera, lens, resolution or whatever. They have never asked what either I or my 5D-toting partner use; they get the shots they need no matter which of us is shooting that day. While I sometimes lust after her 5D, every time I pick it up and compare the results with her Canon and 85mm 1.2 L lens against my K10D and 77mm 1.8 lens, I am more and more satisfied with my purchase.