Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-08-2007, 08:17 AM   #1

New K100D Question

Hi All - I just bought a K100D and took some pictures of motorsports (ALMS at Limerock). I got some good photos, but noticed that using the Sports option on the Moving Object mode on the dial, the camera went to really fast shutter speeds (1/4000). I ended up using the Tv option and using around a 1/250 shutter speed to get a nice motion blur in the background.

Will the Moving Object mode always end up with really fast shutter speeds? I'm new to photography, so did I do the right thing?

Thanks,

Matt

07-08-2007, 08:52 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I have a K10D and not a K100D, the K10D doesn't have the "scene mode" options, but it would make sense that a "sports" scene mode tries for the highest shutter speed that it can. The point of that mode is probably to freeze action - if you want motion blur while panning, you likely want to start using one of the "less automatic" modes, which is what you wound up doing. You've learned your first photography lesson.
07-08-2007, 06:22 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
It has been a while since I used the sports mode, but it only bumped the shutter a couple stops as I recall. What ISO were you at?
07-08-2007, 07:28 PM   #4

Original Poster
The photo was at 1600 ISO. It was at 300 mm focal length with a shutter speed of 1/3000, F9.5. Was the ISO too high? I've noticed that you always here about the appeture / shutter speed trade off, but ISO makes a difference too, correct?

Last edited by Romoman; 07-08-2007 at 07:56 PM.
07-08-2007, 09:32 PM   #5
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Romoman Quote
The photo was at 1600 ISO. It was at 300 mm focal length with a shutter speed of 1/3000, F9.5. Was the ISO too high? I've noticed that you always here about the appeture / shutter speed trade off, but ISO makes a difference too, correct?