Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-11-2010, 06:03 PM   #1

K-x and outdoor flash fill............Not working consistantly.

So I'm new to the DSLR realm. I have used a Nikon 6006 and Canon a630 for pics. Both of these did a decent job of flash fill on faces in sunlight.

Now, I get my cool new K-x and thinking the flash fill would be a no brainer since it's more advance than my other two.

To my surprise, I get very inconsistent results. Most of the time, it looks like I don't have the flash on. I can see, and my subject have confirmed the flash went off.

I have the flash up and set to manual using the green auto pic mode. The subject are about 8-15 ft. I'm using the kit lens 18-55 mm

Here are the things I have tried.
  • Bumping up the flash power manually to +1. No difference
  • I switch to shutter priority and set it to 1/180 and 1/60. No difference.
  • Shot a few pics in Live View. No Difference
Am I missing something totally obvious here?

Last edited by ziscwg; 03-11-2010 at 11:47 PM.
03-11-2010, 06:32 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by ziscwg Quote
I have the flash up and set to manual using the green auto pic mode. The subject are about 8-15 ft. I'm using the
[/LIST]Am I missing something totally obvious here?
In Green Mode the camera makes all the decisions. It decided you didn't need flash. Try Av mode and set your flash to -1 Ev.
03-11-2010, 08:06 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by audiobomber Quote
In Green Mode the camera makes all the decisions. It decided you didn't need flash. Try Av mode and set your flash to -1 Ev.
Thanks for your help

The flash did go off in "green mode."

The same lack of fill happened in Tv mode at 1/60 and 1/180.

Does setting the flash to -1 increase its light output to fill better?
03-11-2010, 11:43 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Most likely you're exceeding the flash range.

Posting an example image with exif included would help.