Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-24-2010, 12:14 PM   #1

Borrowing K10 to complete noob - setup?

Hi guys,

in a couple of days I'm going to borrow my K10d with a Sigma 24-60/2.8 and a Metz 58 to a friend who wants to shoot a familiy event. I wont be there at the event.

He has never used a DSLR before (ok, he did, but just 5 minutes). I will try to explain the most important things to him, but not more than one can remember at once.

I though about the following setup/config:
Program "Av" mode, set to f 2.8 (and eventually explaing the DOF thing and the thumb dial)
AUTO ISO 100-640
Camera EV set to -0.3 or -0.6 (to avoid highlight clipping)
AF-S set to center point (and explain focussing with the central point)
Flash with a small diffusor set to P-TTL HSS to avoid overexposure outdoors
Flash EV set to -0.5 EV
Lens with hood mounted
RAW+JPG (or eventually RAW only, will do the RAW processing for him)
SR on

What else should I think of?
Do you have further tips?
Has this been tried before? Am I just insane?

03-24-2010, 01:07 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I seriously mean this.

Plan A, put it in totally in green mode for everything. ISO 100-800. Raw only.
Plan B, put it in P mode but change the custom menu to have it set for DOF preference.

You are insane, unless you get a disclaimer that you can't be helped if this friend screws it up.
03-24-2010, 02:51 PM   #3
Veteran Member

I have to agree with blackcloudbrew on this one. The k10d can be confusing enough to a seasoned DSLR user but a complete nubey would be an accident waiting to happen. Putting it in green mode is the safest alternative, that way he won't have to fiddle with any settings.

Better yet tell him to borrow a P+S from someone.
03-25-2010, 07:32 AM   #4

EDIT: just realised you mentioned outdoors...darn