Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-13-2007, 11:06 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
JPEG vs. RAW - some pictures

So people elsewhere are arguing over raw vs. jpeg comparing different shots. One of my favorite features of the K10D is having RAW+ as a feature. As long as you have a lot of SD cards, it's great!

So here are a couple of shots - shot in both jpeg (default settings) and RAW with the K10D. Post-processing: exposure changes and white balance in ACR; levels, color balance, and contrast for the jpegs etc. but nothing major (I'm not a pp pro - perhaps one of the reasons I like taking lots of pics and getting it as "right" as possible in camera). Some sharpening of the RAW before resizing and of both after resizing.

Tell me which is which (and see more from this small batch jpeg vs. raw Photo Gallery by betsypdx at pbase.com- all taken with the Super-Takumar 85mm f1.9).

(And, by the way, not all of these were perfectly exposed - some needed +1 or more EV in ACR, and significant levels "tweaks").

E

F

O

P

E1

F1

If anyone gets all of them (in the gallery) right, they'll get some kind of prize.

07-13-2007, 11:16 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Can't see the difference.
07-13-2007, 11:29 PM   #3
Forum Member

Raw photo's are:

E, O, E1

For my prize, can I have your nice Takumar lens? Pretty please!
07-14-2007, 02:54 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Yeah, I am tempted to say E O E1 are raw as well.

For some reasons, the colour showed up better in these 3 images.

I think the true difference is clear after developing these shots. I had a few done and the difference is clear

07-14-2007, 03:15 AM   #5
Inactive Account

I can see some little differences but I wouldn't know which are which Betsy. The all look excellent to me.
07-14-2007, 04:25 AM   #6
Inactive Account