Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-01-2010, 07:57 AM   #1

How to check a new DSLR

I'm new to DSLRs. I just received the K-7 and smc DA* 16-50 from B&H. I'm very disappointed in the packing job they did. the large box held the two smaller Pentax boxes and they banged around inside. They only used those air pillows on top of the camera and lens and nothing under them or on the sides. So I would like to find out if someone has a script of the basic functions I should check out. It is going to take me some time to get through that 300 page manual.

So far, it turns on, focuses, flash works, takes nice pictures (okay, stellar pictures compaired to my Kodak P&S). What else could be subject to damage due to the UPS shake, rattle and roll test?

04-01-2010, 08:12 AM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
I am having the exact same experience. When my new K7 arrived last night from Willoughby’s ordered on Amazon the box was just as you said and there was no seal on the inside box. I posted a question about this this morning and found that several people have received their K7 with no box seal. I guess this is just the way Pentax does it.

I did my best to check my camera over as well, but will admit that I don't know all of the in depth things to look for. One respondant suggested that I check the number of shutter snaps for my camera. I have no idea how to do this, but would be interested in finding out.

I look forward to seeing responses to your post so that I can check my new baby out as well.
04-01-2010, 08:18 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
There are a few things I can think of:

1. You could place the camera on a table, have a look trough the viewfinder and see if the table is in line with the bottom of the view. Older Pentax camera's sometimes had their viewfinder views tilted after strong shocks.