Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-07-2010, 09:57 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
RAW format to use for new K-x?

I just received my brand new white K-x. I have a couple of questions: which mode does it make most sense to shoot in (JPEG, RAW), what setting do y'all usually use (I'm a strict amateur at this), and if RAW, I have a choice with this camera to use Pentax's PEF format or Adobe's DNG format. Thoughts? Many thanks!

Peter

04-07-2010, 10:03 PM   #2
Veteran Member

What do you use to edit files? If you use Lightroom or Photoshop, then it's probably going to be a better idea to use the DNG files. There isn't really much of a difference with them other than the size and type of compression though. It all depends on what program you use for the most part, although I suppose there are a few other factors in it.
04-08-2010, 03:38 AM   #3

i usually use jpg , it is smaller ,and faster to record. i use raw when i shoot landscape or HDR. and Adobe DNG for raw.
04-08-2010, 03:53 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Stick to DNG, loads of pp programs support it.

04-08-2010, 04:17 AM   #5
Veteran Member

A few notes of jpg versus raw shooting.

PEF files are somewhat smaller than DNG files, a year or more ago DNG files were less compressed being much larger than PEF.
DNG has a few advantages now:
- It can store its postprocessing changes in the file.
Which means that your postprocessing changes can be added to the file without altering the original photo data.
- It is recognized by much more software than PEF, like Win7 etc.
- It is recognized correctly by Picasa 3.6 (newer PEF formats are displayed with wrong colours)

RAW has a lot of advantages over JPEG.
The only drawbacks are: size and less compatibility (you'd need to export to jpeg or gif before you can put it on a webpage for instance)

The advantages are: