Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-09-2010, 04:46 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Will I blow my camera up ?

If I make a small clamp out of metal, probably aluminium, that fits into the K10 hotshoe to secure a small spirit level that I can use when it's on a tripod?

I'm sure that I can make it so it doesn't touch the camera hotshoe contacts, I'm an engineer with access to a machine shop.
But in the event of a short across the contacts when the shutter is pressed, would there be any problems?

04-09-2010, 05:36 PM   #2
Veteran Member

I'm sorry but I'm not quite sure what you're asking. I suppose as long as the contacts aren't touched then there shouldn't be a problem, but your camera won't blow up either way, the hotshoe itself might short out along with the rest of your camera though.
04-09-2010, 05:45 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by jct us101 Quote
I'm sorry but I'm not quite sure what you're asking. I suppose as long as the contacts aren't touched then there shouldn't be a problem, but your camera won't blow up either way, the hotshoe itself might short out along with the rest of your camera though.
Shorting the contacts isn't going to hurt anything anyway.
04-09-2010, 05:46 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Don't be cheap. Just spend the $5 and don't risk your camera. DealExtreme: $4.69 Resin Hot Shoe Bubble Spirit Level for DSLR/SLR Cameras.

04-09-2010, 05:47 PM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Lloydy Quote
If I make a small clamp out of metal, probably aluminium, that fits into the K10 hotshoe to secure a small spirit level that I can use when it's on a tripod?

I'm sure that I can make it so it doesn't touch the camera hotshoe contacts, I'm an engineer with access to a machine shop.
But in the event of a short across the contacts when the shutter is pressed, would there be any problems?
You can get a plastic one for a couple bucks.