Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-10-2010, 02:19 PM   #1

Pentax K7 (Setting Focus Point) Please Help

Hello folks,

I have just purchased my first DSLR so yes I am a complete newb.

I am having some trouble setting the focus point on the k7. The book said to put the dial on <SEL> which is what I did. However when I do so I do not see the symbol on the screen change from <Auto> mode. I am not sure if this is a defect however when I hit the <OK> button nothing happens. I am not able to move around the focus point with the four directional pads.

Am I doing something wrong, or should I send the camera back?

Thanks in advance for you help.

04-10-2010, 02:36 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Borislav Quote
Hello folks,

I have just purchased my first DSLR so yes I am a complete newb.

I am having some trouble setting the focus point on the k7. The book said to put the dial on <SEL> which is what I did. However when I do so I do not see the symbol on the screen change from <Auto> mode. I am not sure if this is a defect however when I hit the <OK> button nothing happens. I am not able to move around the focus point with the four directional pads.

Am I doing something wrong, or should I send the camera back?

Thanks in advance for you help.
You're misunderstanding.. The Select focus point you are referring to is the area of the viewfinder that the AF selects for focusing. 3 choices. Auto, Sel, and Center. Set it to Center. The AF/MF switch is on the front of the camera near the lens (AF-S, AF-C, and M).

04-10-2010, 02:48 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Humm, JeffJs, sorry, but I cannot see where Borislav talked about AF.C or AF.S problems...

Borislav, your explanation seems clear to me, and I think your problem is that you are in Green mode... In this mode, a lot of things are set by default and cannot be changed!