Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-26-2010, 01:24 PM   #1
simplesyrup

Kx Kit or Body only

First post, really great forum I have learned so much, I am going to pick up a Kx at Adorama should I get the kit with the 300mm or just the body and some better lenses. Im new to DSLR and this will be my first. I was going to get the Canon 550d but i think I should invest in some better glass. Thanks for all your input.

04-26-2010, 02:36 PM   #2

If you check the prices you will see that "body only" costs more than body + 18-55 lens, so definitely don't go for body only. I think most people would recommend getting the 18-55 + 55-300 kit. 55-300 is a very good lens and you will get it as cheap as you can by buying it with the body.
04-26-2010, 02:59 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I definitely recommend the kit with the 55 - 300mm. I really like the 55-300 lense and I'm getting very good quality shots out of it. Most people also like the 18-55mm lense (see the reviews) also.

Reviews: Pentax Lens Review and Specification Database - DA L Series Zooms
04-26-2010, 03:55 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I don't recommend getting the 18-55 kit lens, which is over-rated. Other than the 55-200 and the 18-250, it is the least inspired piece of glass in Pentax's DA lineup. It is only mildly sharp in the center, and is egregiuosly soft toward the borders. It also suffers from all kinds of annoying CA problems. It simply cannot match up to the glories of the higher end Pentax glass. The lens is the most important determinant in the image quality of your photographs. If you want to develop your talent as photographer, you don't want to be held back by the mediocrity of your lenses.