Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-01-2010, 08:37 PM   #1

K7 vs. Kx vs. just wait...

Great Forum Guys! Hoping to get some input on my shopping. So i've never owned a dSLR before and I've decided on Pentax. Now I have to decide a few things...Model, Timing, and where to purchase...

So, the model decision is pretty straightforward. The K7 vs. the Kx is the choice right now, i'm not considering a used model. The issue is since I'm a beginner, the Kx is probably sufficient, but I do like the weather-sealed nature of the K7, the slightly better video, better LCD, better continuous mode, but other than that, any other major advantages of going K7 over Kx? Any things the Kx has that the K7 doesn't have? I'll be getting the kit lens, so are those identical (except weather sealing on the K7)?

The other option is "wait" -- i.e. just wait until there is a successor to the K7 announced (the only thing the K7 is missing from my wish list is 1080p video capture). The thing is, I definitely want the camera within the next 6mo...anyone willing to guess odds on whether there will be a new model in the next 6mo?

Finally...Where to get it? I've seen the K7 (with kit lens) for consistently below $1,000. In fact it's currently at fumfie.com (no-name company, but they have decent reviews at reseller ratings) for $849 + 15 shipping. They also have a big package over at ebay for a little under 1,000 but they throw in an SD card, a couple "lenses", tripod, and a few other things. Or should I just get camera & lens kit at Amazon or B&H for about $980.

Or do I spend half that price, and just get the Kx and then upgrade to the latest & greatest when it comes out....eventually.

Any thoughts are appreciated.

05-01-2010, 11:57 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I don't have either. Some points that I can think of:

The Kx is well known for its very good high ISO capabilities; as far as I know better than the K7.