Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-29-2010, 08:19 PM   #1
Inactive Account

suggest a good point and shoot for me

I'm a hobbyist, but I do want to be professional good.

This spring I'm planning on finally replacing my broken camera. It's a Canon SX100.

I'm favoring a Pentax (if budget wasn't an issue I'd want a K-7 for it's weatherization; or at least a K-x.)

I want zoom for birding and elusive wildlife.

I also want zoom for elusive children. In fact, if I can be far away I'm more likely to get those special shots of joy with out them noticing I'm taking pictures.

But I want to be able to achieve professional image quality.

So, tell me about your point and shoot. I am curious about the X90 and the RZ10 for starters.

Thank you!

12-29-2010, 09:53 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
That looks pretty good on paper, and shoots RAW too. If I did not already have a SX20 IS, I might consider it.
12-31-2010, 05:23 PM   #4
Inactive Account

Original Poster
will I get better image quality from the Panasonic Lumix?

01-01-2011, 08:28 PM   #5
Veteran Member

broken canon? hit up canon program for refurb, you send in your broken camera they give you discount on a refurb one... give them a call, I think it's call canon loyalty program.

Other wise go for a good super zoom (haven't seen a really good one lately), but they sure will zoom alot. the kodak z9XX series is actually not bad, i hate their P&S but i tried their superzoom (actually owned one for a while), it's quite nice, full manual and paranama mode too.
01-08-2011, 09:52 AM   #6

Photos: Albums
I don't know what your budget is but this looks to be a nice camera if you can live with a shorter zoom.
Olympus X Factor: Creating A New Breed Of Compact Camera

I'm looking into this as a compact to carry with my K20D as my Ricoh GRD is starting to have problems.

John

Last edited by johnny9fingers; 01-08-2011 at 09:54 AM. Reason: added text