Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-26-2011, 05:50 PM   #1

Why does my Optio W90 take such awful pictures?

For taking landscape pictures it seems fine, and it seems to take nice macro shots too, but as an artist I need a camera that can photograph my paintings. I bought the W90 so I had something with plenty of resolution, but the results have been very disappointing compared to my old Fuji S5500 4MP.

The two photos attached were taken back-to-back, using a tripod and light tent. I then took them into Photoshop CS4, did an auto curves adjustment and exported them 700 pixels wide.

Whether at the original resolution or exported at 700px wide, the Fuji pic is sharp, clear, the colours are good and you can clearly see the canvas texture.

The W90 pic has washed out colours, soft edges and instead of canvas texture, just a blurry mush. Again, this is true at full resolution or 700px wide.

I have spent many hours trying different manual settings on the W90, trying manual focus, macro focus, more light, less light (building a light tent was my last great hope) ... the picture posted here today represents the best I've been able to get out of it. Compare this to the S5500 which took the attached picture on the first frame in full auto mode, and you can understand why I'm disappointed with the W90.

Is this just a weak area for this camera?

Thanks,
Lindsay

Attached Images

08-26-2011, 08:44 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
For a second I thought this was a joke. Without reading the thread, just seeing "why does my camera take awful photos" and opening to see a picture of a painting, I was flabbergasted as to how your camera made the photos look so "painted" lol.

.... sorry, this offers no help to your question, just thought it was comical... and very good paintings.
08-26-2011, 11:45 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums