Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-22-2011, 01:59 AM   #1

x90 Av mode problem

I am trying to capture a basic narrow aperture shot of my little boy with an out of focus background and have turned the dial to Av and set the aperture to between 2 and 4 depending on the shot. all the results seem to capture him and the background in full focus--ie ap seems to be wide open. am i missing something?

10-22-2011, 08:40 AM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
I am only a novice in DSLR field. So I may not give you the best advice. At first, I would like to clarify that you need wide open aperture to decrease the DOF (to blur the background). The larger F number the more narrow aperture (small F numbers refers to wider aperture).
As I understand, you tried to shoot at aperture between F2 and F4. Such F numbers refers to wide aperture. Theoretically, you should have reached a narrow DOF because such F numbers are typically used for such a purpose.
I presume that reason might be the too close distance between the object and the background. If it is true, then both the object and the background fall in DOF despite the shallow DOF. In order to check this my presumption, I recommend you the following things:
1) Check your lens maximal aperture (minimum F number). It could be found in the lens or in lens documentation. I also could be found on this site (see lens’ section).
2) Choose some close object that is located from background quite far.
2) Choose the Av (Aperture) mode and try to sett the F number to the minimum. Then focus camera to this close object Then shoot. Check the photo. If all works well, you should get a sharp image of the object with blurry image of background. If the background also is quite sharp, try the next step.