Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-03-2012, 01:30 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Good, durable and very compact P&S

I'm looking for a new compact P&S. First off, I have a K-5 as my main dSLR, a Canon Powershot G9 as my advanced P&S and an older Canon Ixus (Powershot in US) 55. The latter is the one I am looking for a replacement.

It's mainly for my wife to use when traveling, so it needs to be very compact. The size of the Ixux 55 or similar is very desirable. Durable, mainly metal construction is a must. I have been using compact Canons for this reason for many years as they have a stainless steel shell. It doesn't need full manual control, but should have a good flash system like Canon (I have been very pleased with Canon's flash systems over time). Something in the 8-12MP range is sufficient. RAW support is not required. A decent optical zoom range is also good with good wide-angle coverage, at least 28mm film equivalent would be good. Waterproof would be a bonus but not stricly required.

To be honest, I have never played with any of Pentax' own compact P&S cameras, only their SLRs and dSLRs. Does Pentax have something that would suit me?

03-03-2012, 01:41 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Pentax's point and shoots are pretty good, but prior to the current generation, they were quite a ways behind the competition as far as features such as video went.

You can get an optio RS1500 for $75 together with a case and SD card: 15981 G Pentax Optio RS1500 Digital Camera Kit - Silver - with 4GB SD Memory Card, Camera Case

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)