Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
07-15-2014, 08:37 AM - 2 Likes   #1

My take on the MX-1

This is not a review, just a personal assessment.

As a professional photographer, I wanted a compact to carry with me at all times. My criteria was:
1. Image quality (always).
2. Portability, as in more compact than a DSLR. And,
3. Price. As far as dslr’s go, my Pentax cameras are reasonably compact so I did not want to spend the equivalent amount of a dslr for a compact.
When the price of the Pentax MX-1 dropped to $239, I pulled the trigger.

My first reaction upon pulling the camera out of the box was: “I think I may have made a mistake.” I was holding it in one hand and it felt heavy. The reviews said as much, but I wasn’t too concerned about it until I actually held the camera. Then I assumed shooting position (with two hands) and I immediately understood the reason for the weight. It felt like I had slid the camera into a slotted frame support. Rock solid. Stable and balanced. This was a camera designed for taking seriously good photos. And that it does. Having flirted with other compacts and found their image quality wanting, I have finally found my compact camera.

Why it works for me:
– Excellent image quality. The jpegs are so good, I may not even use raw.
– Love the exposure compensation dial. Since I shoot in manual mode almost 99% of the time on my gigs, I kind of want to relax with the compact in P or AV mode. The easy access to the EC dial makes shooting in these modes a close second to shooting in manual.
– The screen because: 1.) It flips out. And, 2.) Contrary to most camera assertions about screen use in sunlight, this one actually is useable in sunlight.
– Speedy auto focus.
– A very noteworthy lens. It is fast, meaning bright apertures from f/1.8 to f/2.5, and it is sharp across the lens.