Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-26-2019, 10:54 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Bad idea to Buy a GRII now that the 3 is out?

Been interested in this camera since the GRII was released. Now that the II is on it's way out and the price has dropped I can justify buying one. It would be great to have the latest and greatest but I can't justify $900 for the 3.

Would it be a bad idea to buy the 2? It would be casual carry around when traveling for work and out on the town, mainly black and white. I'm no pro and have a K50 that covers all my other needs.

Should I stack my pennies for the 3?

Thanks for any advice or push in the right direction.

07-26-2019, 11:26 AM - 2 Likes   #2
Veteran Member

The GRII is still a fantastic camera. If you really want onboard flash, it's better than the GRIII in fact.
However, the improvements in the III are significant. IBIS and dust removal are worth the extra alone in my book.
07-26-2019, 01:01 PM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by aproud1 Quote
...casual carry around when traveling for work and out on the town, mainly black and white. I'm no pro and have a K50 that covers all my other needs...
I think the GR2 will work well for you. It meets your needs now, rather than waiting an indefinite time to save money for the GR3.

You can put the pennies saved (approx 45 thousand of them) toward a new lens, eventual replacement of your K50, or some more pressing need.
07-26-2019, 05:46 PM - 1 Like   #4

I own the GR and the iii. Never used the flash on the GR, and even if I did I would still choose the iii by a wide margin. The sensor is much less noisy. The immage stabilization lets me push the iso way down. I much prefer the user interface and touch screen. The macro mode is great. I shoot raw + and prefer all the new b&w in camera options over the previous GRs. I could keep waxing on and on but this post is long enough.

07-26-2019, 07:12 PM   #5

Original Poster