Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-05-2020, 01:45 PM - 3 Likes   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Minimalist street photography with a Ricoh GR

A fascinating short video from Sean Tucker on using a Ricoh GR for his street photography.

For any one who has an interest in street photography.

07-05-2020, 03:47 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Nice video. Everything this guy rings true when it comes to street photography for me. There are just more opportunities when you are using a simple point and shoot and shooting from the hip. This way you can catch people in their natural environment. The Pentax GR is a great little camera, but quite expen$ive (at least for me), so are the accessories. This is what has kept me away so far, from buying that camera. I would rather dump my money into a DSLR system unless of course I was a Professional Street Photographer which I'm not.

I use to carry my Lumix DMC-TZ5 almost every where I went every day, because it fit right into my front pocket. And boy did I get some great shots that I probably would not have been able to if I was carrying my DSLR. Unfortunately, the Lumix is only a 10 Megapixel camera, so I could only go about 8x10 max when it came to enlargements. Also, anything over ISO 800 and you start seeing noise like there was no tomorrow. It does not have an ASPC sensor like the GR, more like 4/3, or maybe even smaller ?

On very bright sunny days the LCD in the back would get washed out, so you couldn't take any pictures even if you tried and this camera did not come with an optional optical viewfinder. This camera unlike the GR did have a zoom lens which was the equivalent of 28-105 mm, but trying to hold the camera still with a focal length over 60 mm was quite a challenge even with shake reduction.Then there was the time/shutter lag when you wanted to get off a quick shot...