Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-15-2021, 06:29 AM   #1

Tough compact camera for the mountains.

My trusty Ricoh GR has finally given up on me after 5 years of extensive use. I have been using it for mountaineering, hiking, and camping. It took fantastic pictures but I think the abuse has finally taken its toll. I am considering replacing it with a tough camera that is more suited to the conditions. I like to keep the camera in my pocket and take shots as I climb. I have a K3 but even with the da21 it's just too heavy and bulky for how I want to use it.

My biggest concern is losing RAW ability and general picture quality. Does anyone have a tough compact that takes good shots? I don't need a zoom. 28mm is a perfect fov for what I need. I have been using Pentax/Ricoh for many years but am open to other brands.

Last edited by Alnjpn; 03-15-2021 at 06:30 AM. Reason: I can't spell..
03-15-2021, 07:08 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I am aware this doesn’t have a fixed lens but this is a good tough camera with reasonable image quality for the sensor size. The camera supports RAW.

https://asia.olympus-imaging.com/product/compact/tg6/feature2.html
03-15-2021, 07:08 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
By tough, do you mean weather resistant? Options are quite limited if so, only small sensor compacts. olympus tough camera have raw output. There's the fuji x100v, but that's not exactly compact.

Otherwise, i like the gr iii very much for hiking when other cameras are too heavy. ibis in particular helps with low light and smoothing waterfalls a little (also the built in nd for the latter).
03-15-2021, 07:45 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I'd get the GRIII. Use a nice camera bag and that fixes the "tough" part as long as you're not drop kicking it.

Canon has a few nice compact mirrorless cameras too.