Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-29-2010, 01:16 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K-x videos have severe sound synch problem

My new K-x came a few days ago and yesterday I took my first shots including 3 very short AVI clips. Everything was set to the defaults, hadn't changed anything. The videos were less than a minute and the sound was far in advance of the video. It was ridiculous. I used the only memory card I had, a Kingston 2GB SD card. Is it the card's fault?

I've never used CrystalDiskMark before and don't know how to interpret test results, however I tested the card with CrystalDiskMark 3.0 today (I actually have two of these cards). I formatted the other card today and then tested it and got these results running with 100MB and 3 passes:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
CrystalDiskMark 3.0 (C) 2007-2010 hiyohiyo
Crystal Dew World : Crystal Dew World
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
* MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

Sequential Read : 19.329 MB/s
Sequential Write : 11.066 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 19.122 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 1.923 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 3.160 MB/s [ 771.5 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 0.018 MB/s [ 4.3 IOPS]
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 3.286 MB/s [ 802.4 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 0.019 MB/s [ 4.6 IOPS]

Test : 100 MB [E: 0.0% (0.0/1875.7 MB)] (x3)
Date : 2010/07/29 8:00:03
OS : Windows Vista Home Premium Edition SP2 [6.0 Build 6002] (x86)

My test JPGs were indoors, decent lighting and the camera set to AUTO PICT. The first shot was OK, from about 2.5 feet, the 2nd 3rd and 4th got progressively more blurry and then the 5th was very sharp. The 4th shot was incredibly blurry, the subject a fact and the background was blurry too. The data shows it was shot at 1/80 second, so I'm wondering if this is the much discussed blur issue at lower shutter speeds.