Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-06-2011, 12:07 AM   #1
Veteran Member

What's your video rig?

On the photo side, we all have our special gear (tripods, straps, etc). I'm still new to the video rig scene, and I'm curious what everyone else is using with their video DSLRs.

I'll start. The photo below is pretty much the my entire video rig pieced together. It's a bunch of purchased stuff pieced together into a modular rig.

Attached to the two tripods is a Konova slider. This piece allows me to do short dolly motions. It provides a very smooth back-and-forth or side-to-side motion.

Directly attached to the slider is a Manfrotto 700RC2 video head. I don't believe this is a true fluid head, but it does provide me with adequate fluid-like pan and tilt motion. I like using this Manfrotto head because I can use my existing collection of RC2 quick-release plates. These quick-release plates are key to making my entire system modular.

Directly attached to the fluid, via a Manfrotto RC2 quick release plate and a tripod to double-rail adapter, is a mobile handheld rig that I named "Stowaway Stu." It's mainly based on an express35 Run-N-Gun Duo rig with most of the aluminum rails replaced with carbon fiber rods to save on weight. I have 2 jag35 single rail clamps that are attached to one of the two main rails on Stowaway Stu. One of these rail blocks is holding an Okii USB follow focus (FF), which lets me control the AF motor like a regular follow focus would on my 5D; if I am using the K-5, I have an indiFOCUSmini follow focus with several snap gears that attach to the lens. The other rail block is holding the Azden SMX-10 shotgun mic; the positioning of the mic was done in order to minimize the mic's exposure to the lens AF if using the Okii USB FF. Lastly, I have a Manfrotto 323 quick-release shoe onto which my DSLR, fitted with another RC2 plate, locks into.