Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-01-2011, 01:15 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Newbie in editing video footage

Hi. Just like the vast majority of people here, I came from the photography section and then started to explore the video capabilities of the Pentax K-r. I have a trial version of Sony Vegas and have even edited some videos (nothing fancy, I'm a beginner), but what strikes me is that I don't know what export format to choose. Avi seems too large (720p at 25fps is about 3GB/minute), so I got away by exporting it as WMV (just like Windows movie maker, I think). This file has ~30MB/minute. Obviously there seems to be a tradeoff between the two (I can't imagine that there's no advantage in using the Avi format), but I can't see it. More so, my video player can't even play the 3GB file (maybe it's too big). So what codec do you all use? Thanks and pardon my ignorance.

10-01-2011, 03:25 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
I don't what video format is being used by the AVI that Vegas is creating, but there are many, many options to choose from. AVI doesn't necessarily have to be large, it really depends on the codecs within the container. File extensions like AVI, MPG, MKV are just containers. Each container supports a combination of video and audio codecs that can be stuffed into them, within certain parameters and pairings, and get it to work. MKV is the most pliable, in that it supports almost everything. Have a look at this for some detailed comparisons of each container.
10-15-2011, 04:28 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
I still don't understand very well. Can you please give me examples of good codecs and how to use them in Sony Vegas (or anything else, for that matter)?
10-15-2011, 07:45 PM   #4

Welcome to the often frustrating world of video exporting! I'm not familiar with Vegas's exporting dialogue, but hopefully some of this can help you through it.