Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
10-02-2012, 10:25 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

videos from K5 and K7 won't play on PC

For some reason videos shot on my K5 and K7 cameras play as a black screen on my desktop PC with Windows XP OS. The sound does play although it's mostly camera noise. I've tried Windows Media Player, Real Player, and Pentax Digital Camera Utility 4. These are the AVI videos. What can I do to get them to play properly? They're fine in play back mode in camera.

10-02-2012, 10:47 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
This is why everyone hates Pentax AVI files! VLC media player should be able to open them, with a little bit of effort. Although I'm not an expert, I know that there's also free software out there which lets you convert these AVI files.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
10-02-2012, 11:09 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Pentax K5 and K7 AVI files

Adam,

Thanks. I was finally able to run the videos in Quick Time.
10-02-2012, 11:16 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
I also just discovered that i can run Nikon AVI files in Pentax Utility 4 but not the Pentax AVI files. Go figure!

10-02-2012, 12:00 PM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by fredok1 Quote
I also just discovered that i can run Nikon AVI files in Pentax Utility 4 but not the Pentax AVI files. Go figure!
Different codecs. The K-5 and K-7 use Motion JPEG (MJPEG), which as you have found out is natively supported by Quicktime Player.