Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-25-2013, 09:20 PM   #1

SR and video

Hi there,

I'm new to the Pentax line and the whole in-body shake reduction thing, so I was just wondering:

Is the SR turned off when you start filming, or does it affect video and make it jerky when you're panning?

Thanks!

11-25-2013, 09:34 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You can turn it on and off via the menu. On the k5 and k7 it's mechanical, other cameras just have electronic stabilization.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
11-25-2013, 09:35 PM   #3

Original Poster
Awesome. Thanks!
11-25-2013, 10:06 PM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Adam Quote
You can turn it on and off via the menu. On the k5 and k7 it's mechanical, other cameras just have electronic stabilization.
Also on the k5 and k7 it works well, on the other cameras it does not and is borderline useless. Better turn it off on the K3.

11-25-2013, 10:22 PM   #5
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Ayoh Quote
Also on the k5 and k7 it works well, on the other cameras it does not and is borderline useless. Better turn it off on the K3.
You can't beat a stabilized lenses for video! And even that can't beat a fixed camera on a tripod

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)