Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
02-03-2014, 06:57 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Video Basics? - Help

So, cutting to the chase...

I need to shoot a video, about 10 minutes long, the finished project is going to be uploaded to YouTube.

How I shoot, what I shoot, and what gear I use is totally up to me... but the problem, I am a PHOTOgrapher, not VIDEOgrapher.
I don't know squat about video...

I don't think gear is going to be too big of an issue... I have a K01, K30, DAL 18-55, DA 40 2.8, DA* 55 1.4, Tamron 90 2.8 macro, and Tamron 70-200 2.8 lenses to use.

It can be filmed in multiple few-minute-long segments, I don't have to go the full 10 minutes. I'll probably end up using Windows Movie maker to put the segments together, add some basic transitions, and text.

What do I need to know about shooting a half-decent video with what I've got?
Any basic tips/pointers?
What kind of memory cards should I use and how many megapixles/quality should I film in so I will be able to upload it to Youtube?
Any online/downloadable programs for video that might come in handy?

The video doesn't have to be amazing or super-high quality... it's just a school project, but I want it to turn out OK...
there are going to be actors, but we're probably not going to record their voices, instead play some music in the background and use subtitles for what they're saying.

Many thanks in advance, all advice will be helpful and greatly appreciated!

02-03-2014, 07:06 PM - 2 Likes   #2
Veteran Member