Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-17-2014, 09:59 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
K3 for professional video use - Questions

I am a proud owner of a Pentax K3. I got it to replace my old, beloved, K100D. Primarily I bought it to have a really good still camera and a replacement for my K100D, not for video use. However, as I have been getting to know my K3 I have been exploring its video capabilities as well.

I make my living as a freelance videographer. My background is in broadcast television. Most of what I do involves ENG style run-and-gun shooting with a full shoulder ENG broadcast camera or live multi-cam work for events with multiple 1/3" chip cameras and live video switchers.

My intent was never to use the K3 as a video camera for any kind of professional work. As I have played around with it though I have become more and more impressed with its video capabilities. It looks like I may have a feature documentary coming up and I am strongly considering using the K3, at least in part, for shooting this project.

I do have some questions about using the K3 for video that I can't seem to find answers for-
  • I will be shooting this project at 24p. However, even at 24p, I can't seem to set the shutter to 1/48. The closest I can seem to get is 1/50. Is there some way to get a 1/48 shutter? It seems like 1/50 could produce stuttering in the video, but maybe shutter in video mode on a DSLR doesn't work the same way as on a video camera or a mechanical shutter on a motion film camera.
  • I would like to be able to record from the HDMI port an uncompressed signal for a more rubust codec while editing. What exactly does the HDMI output? Does it output true 24p or does it use some kind of pulldown? Is it 8 bit video out or is it higher? What is the color space from live HDMI out, 4:2:0, 4:2:2, something else?