Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
02-07-2015, 07:03 AM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Video with the Kx: Where to start?

Hello,

I would like to try diving into DSLR video but I have no clue. Any good tutorials on setup, controls and hints for video with a Kx? Focusing, compensation, speed etc. I know it is only basic as far as DSLR video functionality goes but I'd like to start with it. I can then try with the K5II.
The main reason is that I'm a photographer, not a videographer, but demand for video is growing and I don't want to be left out of the party. I can use the K5II for stills and the backup Kx can do some video work.
I use a Gopro for basic video work but it needs a ton of light.

Thanks,

02-07-2015, 07:41 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Pentax is not super strong when it comes to video, the older cameras even less than the new ones. But here are some starting tips:
- you need a fast and big SD card. It has to be faster than the camera
- focus - you will probably be using manual focus, so it is good to have a lens with good focus throw and distance scales. This means old, film era lenses. You can look into Cine lenses (Samyang makes some for Pentax K), which have a texturized focus ring for a follow focus rig. They also have a de-clicked aperture ring, so you can change aperture on the go, without shaking the camera, clicking, and the brightness flickering.
- ISO and aperture behave in film the way they do in video. But shutter speed is a bit different. You want it to be around 1/focal length. Faster can make things look twitchy, slower can make things blurred. But it depends on light, as well.