Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-23-2015, 04:12 PM   #1

First attempt at DSLR video (K50)

Hi folks. I've spent a lot of time on the forums and they're an excellent source of information. I recently acquired a K50 and am interested in learning a bit about video. I'm a radio and text journalist, so all this visual stuff is a little new and scary!

I took the camera out to my local park this evening and grabbed some shots. I'd be really grateful for your thoughts and suggestions on what I could tweak to improve things a bit.

These clips were taken using the K50 at 25fps and shutter speed 1/50. I have an SMC Pentax-DA 1:1.8 50mm lens and an SMC Pentax-DA 1:2.5-5.6 18-55mm AL, which is actually the kit lens from one of my dad's cameras. I shot with low saturation, contrast and sharpness because I keep hearing that that's the way to get a "film look", and I've tweaked the colours a little bit in Premiere Pro, which I've got on 30 day trial, but am seriously considering subscribing to Creative Cloud for.

I've muted the sound as I didn't have my recorder or mics with me, and as a radio guy the quality of the internal mics causes me a deep, existential terror. :-) I also didn't have a tripod or any kind of stabilisation, so apologies for everything being quite shaky.

08-23-2015, 05:15 PM   #2
Pentaxian

cool....makes me wanna try video on my K-50
08-23-2015, 06:10 PM   #3

QuoteOriginally posted by osaekomi Quote
I shot with low saturation, contrast and sharpness because I keep hearing that that's the way to get a "film look", and I've tweaked the colours a little bit in Premiere Pro, which I've got on 30 day trial, but am seriously considering subscribing to Creative Cloud for.
The reason to back off the saturation, contrast, and sharpness settings is because:
1. This maximizes the dynamic range the camera will handle before things crush to black or blow-out to white and...