Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-20-2010, 03:56 AM   #1
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Software to encode video from Pentax K7 or Kx?

What software are you using to make your video clips? I've upgraded my copy of Sony Vegas Movie Studio to the Platinum version in order to get HD video capabilities, but the clarity of the encoding seems a little disappointing. I'd be interested to know what other people are using, and what settings they are using to encode clips for YouTube or Vimeo.

Rob

04-20-2010, 05:11 AM   #2
Forum Member

For just trans-coding I use Avidemux freeware.
For editing either Kdenlive in linux or more Cinelerra lately.
In Cinelerra I use the QuickTime for linux codec and had good results with it.
But your editing software is more professional I guess might be wrong since I've never used it before.
Just get virtual server for free and install Ubuntu or Mint linux on it and try out the options I mentioned.

edited with Cinelerra
04-20-2010, 05:15 AM   #3

check out the Avanti GUI for ffmpeg ... ffmpeg, as linux users know, is a very capable codec collection, and the Avanti GUI makes it easy to use for Windows.

AVANTI - FFmpeg/Avisynth GUI
04-22-2010, 03:20 AM   #4
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by davidvandoren Quote
For just trans-coding I use Avidemux freeware.
For editing either Kdenlive in linux or more Cinelerra lately.
In Cinelerra I use the QuickTime for linux codec and had good results with it.
But your editing software is more professional I guess might be wrong since I've never used it before.
Just get virtual server for free and install Ubuntu or Mint linux on it and try out the options I mentioned.
Thanks for the suggestions. The quality of result looks pretty good!

Rob

Last edited by RobG; 04-22-2010 at 03:20 AM. Reason: typo
04-22-2010, 04:41 AM   #5
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Original Poster