Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-09-2010, 05:40 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
medium format video?

Hey all
I'm a rookie filmmaker with a Nikon D90 rig and lots of Pentax (esp film) gear. I haven't moved to Canon as I don't do DP work, but I do plan on doing a little camera work on occasion. Currently waiting to see what Nikon and Pentax will be presenting at Photokina.

Was just wondering about the 645D. I really don't know much about sensor types but from what I've read tweaking a dslr to record video isn't really a hardware issue. So wouldn't it be possible for Pentax to develop a medium format camera that can record video? If course it would need some R&D, but with the right changes on the camera (addressing the rolling shutter issue, good compression, etc) would that not be very competitive against other video cameras (red one, alexa, etc), with a sensor size that's close to 70mm film. Don't know, maybe it's a completely ridiculous idea, too difficult to implement or whatever, but would be interested in learning more.

09-11-2010, 11:31 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Why bother? Red Cameras is advertising a real video camera with a 56x42mm and 168x56mm sensor. Granted, it is vapor ware at the moment but vapor ware further down the road than you'll ever see from a still medium format digital camera offer video.
09-12-2010, 04:08 AM   #3
Forum Member

QuoteOriginally posted by phosphoro Quote
I really don't know much about sensor types but from what I've read tweaking a dslr to record video isn't really a hardware issue. So wouldn't it be possible for Pentax to develop a medium format camera that can record video?