Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-01-2011, 03:38 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Ricoh KR 35-70mm. Raise your hand if you've got one!

I managed to score a Ricoh KR Super II body that came with a 35-70mm lens today. It's minty on the inside and dusty on the outside.

A quick squizz through the lens database shows up nothing - only a listing for a XR lens, not a KR lens. And that has no reviews beside it. I had to trawl through google for over an hour before I was brave enough to put the lens on my camera. It doesn't have the infamous Ricoh pin but I had to go through wikipedia a few times to reassure myself to risk it. So rest assured if you come across this lens, it's 100% safe to mount on your camera.

I wondered whether anyone else has this lens and what they thought about it?

I'm a relative newbie to comparing lenses so would love other people's opinions. Eventually I'd like to put up a review on it, but would be interested in hearing other people's opinions on this lens first, as I'm not sure how much of my opinion is based on newbie user error. Hope it's ok to post this in here. *waits for ruler slap*

Here are some pics of the lens. 'scuse the different lighting in each shot. I've got a 50mm on my camera atm and I've left my wide angle at work. So I had to jiggle around the house in order to get decent clear shots. :ugh:

Interestingly the lens has three twisty rings.

1. Focus
2. Focal length - 35, 50 and 70.
3. Aperture (3.5, 5.6, 8, 11, 16 and 22)

It also supposedly has a 'macro' mode to it but I can't twist that far, or when I get to the green line, I don't see anything dramatically change? Like there isn't a macro 'switch' like some lenses (eg Pentax 28-80) have.

For what it's worth, it's also got 6 blades.

Here are some pics of the mount. It's a nice basic mount with three flanges and a bayonet. I've taken the lens off my k100d a few times this afternoon with no dramas.