Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-28-2012, 12:01 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Possible trickle-up effects of Nokia's sensor vis-a-vis APS-C and FF?

Well, I'm no engineer, and I'll surely manage to demonstrate that in this post , but what would happen if the Nokia 808 technology were applied to larger-sensor cameras?

I haven't done the exact maths, but I don't think I'm too far off if I simplify and say that the Nokia 808 1/1.2" sensor is approximately 1/10th the size of a FF sensor and a little less than 1/5th the size of an APS-C sensor.

At the same 1.4 pixel pitch as the 808 sensor, a 4:3 image on FF would be 380MP and APS-C would be 170MP (approximates).

My question is, would any existing primes be able to resolve anything like this? If they can't, how is Nokia doing it?

If they could, most people would only need one (somewhere in-between 25-30mm equiv) or two fast primes (say a 20mm and an 80mm equiv), and the rest could be achieved by zoom-cropping...

Think of the advantages... distortion-free primes, silent zoom for video, compact kit size, almost total elimination of noise through oversampling (diminished as you crop-zoom).

Last edited by Unsinkable II; 02-28-2012 at 12:06 AM.
02-28-2012, 10:22 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
One large limitation that exists now is the processing chain of moving that raw data around (even before it hits the SD card).

Another part is the physics. I believe it's easier to design a lens that resolves more detail with a smaller true aperture (not f-ratio), due to imperfections in the glass and amount of curvature required. Since this is going on a smaller sensor, the true aperture is much smaller. The shorter focal length and more parallel incident rays to the microlenses probably have an effect, too. And you'll start to bump up against the diffraction limit soon anyway. Add in SR/VR and the sweet center spot isn't in the center anymore.