Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
10-09-2012, 08:58 PM   #16
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
You made a very specific claim about Pentax sales, which you made up on the spot. You have no idea what Pentax sales are under Ricoh, nor how they compare to Pentax sales under Hoya or previously under Pentax.

10-09-2012, 10:31 PM - 1 Like   #17
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by audiobomber Quote
Your pronouncement on sales is hard to believe. Where are the sales figures to back this up?
You made a very specific claim about Pentax sales, which you made up on the spot. You have no idea what Pentax sales are under Ricoh, nor how they compare to Pentax sales under Hoya or previously under Pentax.
I have been tracking BCNRanking for Japanese sales for many years.
I can still remember the heyday of K10D/K100D when Pentax was a solid #3. Then it went through a low period of K20D/K200D, but follow ups like K-m, K-x were hits. There was frequently a Pentax model in the top 10 or close to top 10 in the weekly/monthly sales chart; and you could count on the yearly sales chart having at least one Pentax in the top 10.

But things are not pretty this year.
In the month of September, there were no Pentax model in the top 20; actually not even in the top 30.
The top selling Pentax was Q, would you believe it?..... at #39.

The top selling K-30 configuration was at #74, and this is frankly shocking for a model which was released in Japan just 3 months prior in June.
This is a position I would expect for a going-to-be-discontinued 2 year old camera, not a brand new 3 months old model!
And GXR is selling better than K-5; while both were outside the top 100.

And the Amazon best seller list, admittedly not the most accurate chart, do give us an indication that the dire situation is not limited to Japan.

So yeah, this is the lowest point in terms of sales since the release of K100D 6 years ago.

QuoteQuote: