Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-17-2014, 12:32 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Going fullframe - considerations

hi there,

I have been saving since photokina 2012 to go fullframe in 2014 and now it's time. Since I don't believe in Ricoh bringing ever a fullframe camera (please no discussions about this here) I probably have to switch or at least reduce my lens collection. This post could be obsolete if Pentax offered a FF camera...
To my background and shooting style: I do take wedding photos, event photos and do some portraiture (earning a little extra money, so far my clients were quite satisfied with my results), but also macro and landscape (as a hobby) and street/travel reports (most of the time not earning money, just for rebates or tickets, most of them without any benefits) - so quite mixed. My equipment: various film cameras, Pentax K5 + K5-II, AF-540FGZ flash, ring flash, DA* 16-50, DA* 60-250, AFA 1.7x teleconverter, smc A 50mm f/1.7 and M 50mm f/1.4 and some other old manual focus lenses, DA* 55, FA 31mm limited, FA* 24mm, FA* 85mm, A* 85mm, DFA 100mm macro, DA 15mm ltd. I am also tmpted by the 43mm and the 77mm, but only with the possibility to use them on FF. And: I like lenses with a certain character, e.g. the helios, 31mm ltd etc. ... I guess you know what I mean. So I think the DA* 55mm is great, but lacks the certain pixie dust, so I think I would also get a great 50mm in Nikon land.

The reason for fullframe for me: really shallow DOF (so this disqualifies the 645Z) and I think that the lenses should be used as they were intended to be used (no real complaints about image quality of my lenses, but my 31mm is a damn 31mm lens and not 46mm!).