Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
03-29-2018, 04:56 AM   #1

Need a new body and tired of Lightroom : KP or XT10/20?

Hi,

so I've spent the last week driving myself nuts comparing XT10/XT20, A6x00 and the slightly unexpected KP. I was initially dead set on trying out mirrorless for the WYSIWYG experience which would probably fit my current shooting more than the K7 and K01 I have been using for the last 8 years.

I realized that first of all I shoot for hobby, have far less time now to go over my RAW shots on the PC and that I always felt slightly frustrated by Pentax Jpegs for some reason. There is no doubt that Pentax RAW files are best in class for the price but the time required to develop them actually led me to almost stop shooting : since I was always afraid that the JPEGS would not do my Limiteds justice I would shoot RAW and then leave them as such. Not bad but pictures are meant to be shot and shown...

After discovering and reading about the KP I started having doubts, first because of the pixel peeper in me : the APSC sensor data and ISO look astounding. On top of that the camera seems compact enough yet retains all the ergonomic fundamentals of why I went with Pentax, adds IBIS and all the premium Pentax magic tricks my K7 got me accustomed to (well except the top LCD).