Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 8 Likes Search this Thread
11-08-2018, 09:19 PM   #1
Banned

mamiya m42 mount cameras...

so... anyone have any experience with mamiya 35mm slr cameras—like the 60s stuff? found a “mamiya cwp” from 1964-‘66 yesterday with a few minor issues—it needed a realignment of the meter wheel, the shutter speed dial was loose and came right off. oh—and the lens and viewfinder seem to be irradiated. no big deal.

anyway, it’s in the shop now—but i’ve never used a camera like this before—it has a cloth shutter and no diopter... as i wear glasses—i’ve heard this old-school no-diopter business is a deal breaker for focus.

wondering if i should just sell it (the CWP seems to be relatively rare! like i found only one or two on ebay... attached a photo of the only one on there in decent shape)—or should i shoot my m42 lenses on this puppy until i develop serious cataracts? have heard from wiser photogs that the only mamiya cameras worth shooting are medium format, but i would venture a guess that the ancient “mamiya/sekor 50mm f2” included with this old moose will be rather underrated. not 100% sure what the kit was, but according to what i can find online, it was kitted with the 55mm 1.8 (which was MIA...), but there is very little information online.

surely nobody cares about such a potentially deadly old camera, but i thought i would query for opinions...

Attached Images

11-08-2018, 09:34 PM - 1 Like   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I don't know about the radiation, but Ron Herron's Mamiya 35mm camera site has a section about your camera. It may also be in his price reference list. It was not Mamiya's first SLR, but it is early.

Mamiya Prismat 35mm Cameras

Have fun!

Steve
11-08-2018, 09:59 PM   #3
Banned

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by stevebrot Quote